Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

Quilts Part One May 5, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — yarnplanner @ 11:31 am

One of the things I really should have been blogging about are the quilts that I have made in… oh… the last couple of years.

I don’t see myself as a big quilter but I do love the way the different fabrics come together, making the whole so much more than the sum of the parts.  Yes, I was one that once asked a quilty friend why (on earth) would you cut up all those little bits of fabric just to sew them back together again.  I also ask Donna on a regular basis how many quilts she really needs.  So I guess that puts me on the outside of the quilting fraternity until I deeply, truly and wholeheartedly understand the answers to those two questions.  

Nevertheless, I have made a few quilt like things and this was the first real quilt.  It was made from a kit which overcame my first fear of quilting – having to chose all those fabrics.  I’m pleased to say I’m over that fear now and even though I am still a novice, I am learning step by step about fabric choice and I really enjoy that part of the process . I am sad to say that I can’t remember who I bought the kit from.  I should, but I can’t.  It was called Top Gear and I bought it at one of the craft fairs at the Brisbane Convention Centre.  If anyone can help, that would be great!

ImageI

It was made for my boy and I had it professionally quilted with a cars pattern all over.  The cost of the kit and the quilting made it quite an expensive process but I am pleased with the result and we all use this one regularly.  Even though it was made for a (then) three year old, I think the colours aren’t too babyish so this will be good for a while yet.

ImageA good start I think.

 

One Response to “Quilts Part One”

  1. A very good start indeed!!! I love it when people say they use their quilts lots and their kids use them and they have favourites – makes them part of the family I think! The cars quilting pattern is a great choice!!

    I too have ‘before-quilting-Bron and ‘quilter-Bron’ ‘Before’ is such a blur!!


Leave a Reply

