Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

Special February 6, 2011

Filed under: bits of life,sewing — yarnplanner @ 10:12 pm

I have a whole host of blog posts in my head that I just have not found the time to get down but this one couldn’t wait any longer.
When my mother ‘remodelled’ her sewing space recently she found that her existing sewing table didn’t quite fit the plans. My Mum (hi Mum!) needs things to fit and so the sewing table became reluctantly redundant. Except that this is no ordinary sewing table. This has to have been with my Mum for as many years as I have. She can’t quite remember if it was bought for her by her father or by my father but it was a LONG time ago. And it really doesn’t matter to me. Both these men were important to me so, ergo, this sewing table is too. Of course, my Mum is the one that has kept this table with her and used it for all these years and that is the most important thing of all.
sewing table
It is just beautiful. More beautiful since she restained it and brought it back to its real former glory but it works so beautifully for me. A bit longer than my nephews desk that I was using before, it allows me to comfortably access my machine and overlocker and the drawers are just perfect for sewing things.
sewing table
Very shallow and wide so that you can see everything at a glance.
sewing table
A special shelf for threads but I keep mine where I can see them so I need to find a good use for it.

Of course I love it, I love sitting at it and I love that it has history. History that can’t be remade.

 

Leave a Reply

