Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

Superhero June 18, 2010

Filed under: bits of life,Gryff,sewing — yarnplanner @ 3:07 pm

When I saw this post from Sheridan last year, it seemed like it would be a very long time before my little wee boy would be ready for a superhero cape.  But about two weeks off his third birthday my boy started bugging me for a cape. Fortunately, thanks to that blog post, I was prepared with a pattern and some fabric so in one night I was able to create this.

I only put the logo on one side and didn’t top stitch around the cape because I thought it looked nicer as it was.  It is a great pattern.  I decided not to give it to him for his birthday because he was getting a REALLY BIG present so he has been running around yelling ‘superhero, superhero, superhero” with that cape for a few weeks now.

Imagine my surprise when my sister gave him a full superhero costume for his birthday last weekend.

He is sooo in love with this costume, I have trouble getting him to take it off.  It was understandable but I have to admit I was a bit disappointed (well  maybe more than a bit).  My cape seems a bit tame, not quite up to scratch, not nearly as exciting. Until I remembered…

Even superhero’s need a wash day spare.

 

One Response to “Superhero”

  1. chaletgirl Says:

    Glad to be of service!!

    And glad you have a wash day spare! Love the silky lining.


Leave a Reply

