Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

Linen @ Gardams May 21, 2010

Filed under: bits of life,fabric,Uncategorized — yarnplanner @ 7:57 pm

I’ve had Linen on the brain since coming back from SIT.  I was lucky enough to buy a few pieces of linen quilting fabric at both Amitie and Patchwork on Central Park and then some pure linen, hanky linen and a linen /viscose blend at Tessuti’s.  Since I got back ( less than a week ago), I have added to that with some cheaper linen /cotton blends from Lincraft and Spotlight.  Suddenly, I had a neat little stash.  Enough, I said… find some projects for it… pet it a bit more, then decide what you really need.  Imagine how my heart had palpitations when I heard on the radio that Gardams were having a 50% off sale on daywear fabrics – for 3 days only!.  Gardams are the oldest, most prestigious fabric store we have in Brisbane, they carry only the best.

My mother (now over 70 years old) tells me stories of Saturday mornings in Gardams buying fabric which was then made into clothes to wear out that night.  This was in the 50’s, she was a blossoming young woman, still living at home but attending parties and balls, she made all her (good) clothes and I bet most of the fabric and notions came from Gardams.

So the little boy and I just had to check it out.  I rang first to find out which store would have the best range and that the linens would be in the sale.  No problem.

What a lovely experience!  They had the best of solid fabrics I have seen so far.  I bought a few neutral colours, some for embroidery, some for other stuff (yet to be determined).

I bought a few brights – to go with other fabric I have in my stash (yet to be identified).

(sorry about the flash brightness there folks!)

I bought some pastels because I thought they would go beautifully with some vintage sheets that I may or may not actually own at this time.

and then they wrapped my fabric in paper. Oh my…..

and put it in a lovely big bag.

I felt like a million dollars leaving that shop – well, half a million at least (it was a half price sale after all!)

I am so tempted to go back but sigh….I really don’t need any more fabric!

 

5 Responses to “Linen @ Gardams”

  1. chaletgirl Says:

    Oh my indeed! That’s what I was saying as I was admiring your linen!

    Gorgeous purchases!!

  2. Cass Ward Says:

    OMG I’d go there just for the wrapping paper. When are we coming to Brissie

  3. Kelly Says:

    Yum! I’ve been admiring your gorgeous linen on flickr, especially the bright stuff! Which Gardams did you end up going to – the city or Indooroopilly? They closed the city store down a few years back, but have reopened it – probably due to public demand! Can’t wait to see what you make with the linen. 🙂

    • yarnplanner Says:

      I ended up going in the the City, they said that the range was the same in the two stores. I had thought that they closed in the city too! They told me that they only just moved when they had that ‘closing down’ sale two years ago.


Leave a Reply

