Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

My Noosa Sunset Shawl February 8, 2010

Filed under: finished objects,Uncategorized,yarn — yarnplanner @ 9:48 pm

When I saw Donna’s Noosa Sunset Shawl I knew that I had to have one.  A simple design with just enough interest in the yarn to make it really wearable.  She told me she wore it over a white T shirt to the movies and I thought ‘just perfect’.  I didn’t have any gorgeous yarn in my stash that was going to work so I decided (inspired by Kelebek– scroll down to the end) to overdye some dodgy Moda Vera sock yarn.  So here is the yarn dyed first in Rasberry Ice Kool Aid (also thanks to Donna) and then overdyed again with an eggplanty purple.

I was really pleased with the yarn and also with the finished shawl.  I wasn’t so pleased when I found (when weaving in the ends) that I had dropped a stitch and then not picked it up properly so had a hole but I sort of just fudged a little repair job and so you can’t see it now.  I think I am over shawlettes for the time being and it is great that the next little KAL with Donna will be a vest.  Just in time for the cooler weather.

I’ll try for better pics soon – this really doesn’t do it justice.

 

2 Responses to “My Noosa Sunset Shawl”

  1. Donna Says:

    It looks great. I can’t wait to see it.

    • bluekelebek Says:

      Wow that is one fine looking shawl! Who knew Moda Vera had such beauty waiting in its depths to be released. Now I am kicking myself for not keeping the one I’ve dyed!


Leave a Reply

