Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

Creative Boot Camp January 11, 2010

Filed under: bits of life,blog — yarnplanner @ 1:15 pm

The last few weeks have been truly lazy.  I think that this time of year calls for that and it is part of the natural cycle of life.  The house is cleaned only when it really needs it, dinners are less planned and a bit more relaxed, ironing?… can’t remember what ironing is…and a few more movies are watched.  Projects have been started and finished but in no particular order and whilst I have enjoyed this time, it doesn’t and shouldn’t last.

Now that I have shaken myself out of the slothful, lazy, holiday days I am feeling in need of some organising, planning, completing and clearing around. Hence, as of yesterday (and for no particular time) I am now in Creative Boot Camp.  Like the popular fitness program of the same name, this time will be a concentrated, disciplined, military style regime of activity, dieting, ridding myself of excess and an organised skills development and toning exercise.  It started yesterday with a good clean out of my creative space.  I ditched a few projects that were never going to happen, cleaned out my WIP drawers and made lists of what was going to be completed.  I returned notions to their correct place, tidied up patterns and half used balls of yarn, scraps of fabric and reorganised the cork board that is above my sewing machine.  It felt good! 

Today, I am setting goals and organising a realistic work program.  Like any good workout regime, I am starting within my limits, setting goals which are achieveable and within my skills range.  Next I will stretch myself to those projects that I have planned, but will require new skills and levels of mental fitness.  All the time, I will be dieting until I have made real progress and can feel a bit of movement around my creative waistline to indulge in one or two delicious morsels of fabric and yarn.  I will have ‘Sarge’, my alter ego, yelling in my ear about toughness, intestinal fortitude and discipline to remind me of my goals and I will be strict with myself until those goals have been reached. 

I wonder if I need to wear camo and put some black on my face?  Lets see how I go.

 

Leave a Reply

