Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

Kindy Bags December 5, 2009

Filed under: finished objects,sewing — yarnplanner @ 2:58 pm

One of my more recent achievements was to make a few kindy bags for Secret Santa gifts for little ones. Our Mums group does this type of gift giving and we need to wrap a gift for our own little one when we go to Dad’s work party on Christmas Eve. I thought a couple extra wouldn’t hurt.
The pattern is from the awesome Nikki Mallalieu and it is just how I like it… structured when it needs to be but free flowing to enable modifications. Thanks Nikki.

Here are the bags – the fabric is from IKEA.

I really enjoyed making them but unfortunately (and anyone who has ever gifted anything that is made by them has been through this, I think), it was not received in the way I would have hoped.  A brief inspection, a shrug, a barely perceivable disappointed sigh.  Still, I have decided to make a whole lot more to give to every kid I see in the next 3 weeks to make up for my feelings of disapointment towards the Mum that just didn’t understand.

Edited for clarity – not disappointed in the bags… just the Mum.

 

2 Responses to “Kindy Bags”

  1. Donna Says:

    I hate it when people don’t understand the effort that goes into making things. I was going to make my sister in law a gift for this christmas – I asked hubby if he thought she would like it. His response was “don’t waste your time, you will only be disappointed”. Not her disappointed with the gift, but me upset at not getting the required response. I think that the trick is that you choose who you make gifts for. Pick the ones that you know appreciate your work.

  2. Donna Says:

    On was on such a high horse that I forgot to say that I LOVE the bags. Very cute!!!


Leave a Reply

