Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

Finishing off! May 11, 2009

Filed under: current projects,finished objects,sewing,yarn — yarnplanner @ 2:12 pm

I am in a big finishing mood at present – really keen to get all my WIPs under control and I mean all of them. I found that I had 15 things that were started in some way but just sitting about. Although 15 does seem a lot, there are probably 5 that I didn’t ever expect to actually finish at this time but took an opportunity to start in some way (I had the fabric out, wanted to check the yarn was right etc.). Having said that, 15 is way to many for me, particularly when I am also putting new ideas from my head on paper and trying new things while they are fresh. I’m sure that my currrent obsession with finishing has something to do with the fact that we going on holiday in two weeks and it would be great to be able to come back with some space around me to get on with ideas I have while I am away. It will also be good to take a few of the smaller WIPs with me so that I have no choice but to finish them. So I am being very focused on getting on with the things that need to be done. My first FO was my Mothers Day gift to my Mum. She got a pair of Amy Butler lounge pants and a tshirt with a little heart applique on it. I didn’t take a photo before I gave them to her but I will try to get her to model them for me when I next visit. It was the first time I had used the blanket stitch on my machine and the first time using the applifix fusible web. Both worked really well and I enjoyed the process immensely. I like the blanket stitch better than the buttonhole or satin stitch because it is so much lighter looking. I can see a few more little applique’s happening for Gryff’s t-shirts and such I think. I am making the same combo for my sisters birthday and so will get to follow up on the applique technique again soon. After that there is some holiday sewing for me and my block party blocks. Watch this space for more FOs!

 

One Response to “Finishing off!”

  1. donna Says:

    I agree. You get to a point where you just have to stop and take stock of what is happening. Deal with it and move on. I don’t even want to think about all of my WIP!!! – I think I am in denial.


Leave a Reply

