Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

Mod Sampler Blocks May 6, 2009

Filed under: current projects,sewing,Uncategorized — yarnplanner @ 2:19 pm

I was so thrilled that I finished the cutting up of my Oh Fransson Mod Sampler Quilt along blocks that I put them to the top of my ‘to do’ list.  It seemed to take me forever and yet in the end, it was pretty easy.  I was being very careful at the beginning as I didn’t really feel I knew what I was doing.  I also was using my old cutting mat and it was just too small.  It meant that every strip had to be done twice (top and bottom), measured, lined up… it was silly.  A classic case of the importance of having the right tools for the job.  Still, I didn’t know that at the beginning and so waited until my new mat was delivered before I finished them.  Now they are cut up, I was re-enthused to get this project going.  And seeing what a good job Donna did with hers has got me going as well.  I’m not really sure about the overall look that this quilt will have yet and so it will be really interesting to be able to set all the blocks out when it is done to see what they have come together as.  I actually started out with just one fabric that I liked and had bought for another purpose and went from there.  It will be very interesting to see how it ends up.  Here are a few of the blocks so far.

Obviously, blocks A & B are pretty simple but I decided that I would press my seams open rather than to one side.  This has been a sticky point for me with the block party blocks because I have been getting a better join with the seams pressed to one side but my instinct tells me that I want to press them open.  Why?  Well, the some of the people I really admire in quilting, press them open (I needn’t name them but Oh Fransson’s Elizabeth is one of them but I must add that I don’t even know what some of the people I really admire do either so that is a silly argument) and I know that the block is flatter when they are open.  But I have struggled with getting a clean, crisp corner with them open and so have opted for the ‘cop out’ butting seams against each other press to one side option.  I know I am being ridiculously hard on myself but that is just the way things are.  I see myself as the person that presses them open and can’t quite accept that I am just pressing to one side – or have been.  I pressed to one side on the block party blocks because it was important that they were done well not done the way I would have wanted them ( does that make sense to anyone??).  Finally though, I think I have mastered them being pressed open and the C blocks are all coming out pretty near perfect.  Practice, practice, practice… 

Anyway, here are some of the blocks so far:

And this is my favourite C block – I love the way the ladybugs just look like they are running around in the leaves.

I thought Block C was going to be a real pain – too many small pieces and all those seams to match up but despite the fact it is a bit more time consuming and can’t be rushed, it is such fun!  I have had such a sense of achievement at the end of each one that I just can’t wait for the next one.  Isn’t that strange?

 

One Response to “Mod Sampler Blocks”

  1. Donna Says:

    They are looking fantastic. The colours and fabric look so good together.

    …. going to look for the swift now!


Leave a Reply

