Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

Quilting 101 March 21, 2009

Filed under: current projects,sewing — yarnplanner @ 1:32 pm

Today I started actually putting together some of the blocks for my test quilt in anticipation of the Block Party fabric arriving. I was feeling pretty nervous actually because there were so many variables to consider and therefore so many things that could go wrong. Anyway, I had read enough and it was time to get going. I really enjoyed putting all the little pieces together and the good news (particularly for the block swap participants) is that the last block I put together is much better than the first. In that short time I learned that (1) I tend to let the fabric slip away at the end of the seam so that the last few stitches are not in line with the rest; (2) I need to make sure that I stitch as closely to the edge of the fabric as I can without getting it caught in the feed dogs and (3) although I think that pressing seams open creates a better flatter block, I seem (seam!) to be able to match the seams up much better when I can butt them up to each other because they have been pressed to one side (.. I wonder if that is a newbie thing…?). So a good lesson and good fun all round. I wonder if you can pick the first block from the last.

my very first blocks

my very first blocks

It is in fact the one on the top left but fortunately, things got better and so my last (of four) looks a bit better

the last of my first

the last of my first

So I think I will just get back to it.

 

3 Responses to “Quilting 101”

  1. chaletgirl Says:

    They look really good! Hats off to you for doing some practice first!

  2. Becky Says:

    Well done for getting some pracitce in, maybe I should do that as well as I am a beginner too!

  3. Susie Says:

    It has been absolutely fabulous doing the practice blocks. Not only because it gives me a bit of confidence but I am happy to make mistakes. What has been most useful is measuring the blocks at the end. Even though my cutting out has been pretty spot on and my seams close enough to being right, I am still about 1/8th inch short on the block size. It just goes to show that sometimes, near enough is not always good enough. I am still trying to work out where the problem is and if it will be an issue but I’m glad I’m sorting it with my fabric and not someone elses. Thanks for the encouragement and keep me posted on how you go.


Leave a Reply

