Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

Ironing is important too March 21, 2009

Filed under: current projects,sewing — yarnplanner @ 8:13 pm

As an addendum to my last post I have had to think about how I iron press my blocks as well.  I have found that if you are not careful, the seam is not pressed out properly and if you try to give it a tug to make sure you get the iron on the seam, you can distort the fabric.  I have done all of that this afternoon and pressed and ironed until I have got it right.  I’m pretty pleased with the last blocks that I did, when it all seemed to come together.  I tried to press my seams open again, as it is a test quilt after all but I went back to pressing them to one side.  It is pretty easy with these blocks because if I always press them towards the solid fabric, they will always butt up against another seam and not with it.  I’m not sure how I will go with different blocks where it is not so obvious.

Unfortunately, I also realised that my 4 fabric, 8 different block combo will not work well if I do want to eventually sew my blocks together and make something (which I do) . I’m sure seasoned quilters would have known that from the off but I had to make the blocks and faff about with them to work it out.  I will either have to introduce another fabric or do some clever stuff between the blocks.  I’ll think about that tomorrow.  I’m really pleased they are done and I feel capable of making blocks with other people’s fabric now (did I hear that sigh of relief from the other block party guests??).

I do have a couple of other projects that I would like to turn my mind to until the other fabrics arrive.

 

One Response to “Ironing is important too”

  1. chaletgirl Says:

    I’m so impressed with your enthusiasm! You must be learning so much! You’re doing great – follow your instincts. Pressing open or to one side – doesn’t matter in the slightest!


Leave a Reply

