Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

I am so lucky… March 18, 2009

Filed under: bits of life,current projects,sewing — yarnplanner @ 9:04 pm

… to have met the great girls that inspire me to try new things – those that I can meet and have ‘play dates’ with (for both us and our kids) and those that I know only through their blogs and the kind way they share their talents.  Tonight I washed my Oh Fransson fabrics and now have them out to dry in a spot where they will get that warm but oh so gentle morning sun.  Because I have only worked with small amounts of fabrics before, I have always hand washed them but this evening, I chucked them all in the machine on a gentle cycle and let them sort it out for themselves.  It is a bit disconcerting to have to cut threads to untangle the mess but following the Quiltalong instructions means I will cut all that off when I am getting my beautful straight edge.  Having read the cutting instructions a number of times I can say that I am still challenged by this simple project but I’m fairly sure that when I have my ironed fabric and my ruler in front of me, it will all become clear.  I am thinking that might happen tomorrow night.

I am still trying to sort out my quarter inch seam which seems a bit odd but true.  I can buy the special foot for my machine but found out today it will cost me $35.  That seems a lot for a machine that I have decided I won’t keep any longer than the end of this year…. of course… I might use it 3500 times before the end of the year, and so that is 1 cent a go.  Am I willing to pay that?  Will think some more on that and try some more tests to see if I can get it right another way.

Then I am off sewing my test quilt and of course, cutting my Oh Fransson fabrics.  I also will FINISH the Sweet Tea because I would love to wear it before the end of summer.

This all feels so good at present.  The only thing calling me elsewhere are the fabulous yarns under my bed which also need attention but when I took a little sample of them out the other night and gave them a pet, they said they understood.  Am I going a bit mad with it all?

 

One Response to “I am so lucky…”

  1. Becky Says:

    Go on, buy the foot! It will be worth it to not have to worry about it for the rest over the year!


Leave a Reply

