Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

I just can’t help myself March 17, 2009

Filed under: current projects,sewing — yarnplanner @ 8:01 pm

Because I have been stalking Chaletgirl and the Creative Controllers blogs to keep up with the block party info, I found myself stalking the OhFransson site and getting inspired by the Mod Sampler Quilt along.  At first, I thought that as a newbie I should just be an interested observer and bookmark the fabulous instructions and advice for a later time.  And then I started to think about how I could probably find 12 fabrics to put together and it would be a good exercise to try – the choosing of the fabrics seems like a dark art to me.  And then I thought that if I was going to choose the fabrics, I should probably give some of the blocks a go and they don’t look that hard.  Long story short, I had sort of decided over the weekend that I would get involved.  And then I found out that Spotlight was having a sale and I could shop in the evening (when the boy was asleep) and it all seemed too good to be true.  I am not really keen on buying fabric at Spotlight as there is an issue about quality and value that constantly goes through my head (which I will blog about on another occassion) but I really don’t have the confidence to buy on line yet.  I had two of the fabrics to start with (that I had bought to make a bag that I knew would never happen) and so I had a starting point.

ohfransson quiltalong fabric

ohfransson quiltalong fabric

I feel that I have so much to learn about the bringing together of the fabrics and I hope that this project will help me to make a few mistakes so I can learn – no really I do.  I don’t want to get scared that I will make a mistake so I am frozen into not doing anything at all.  I have made the choices above based on what I have read and an instinct that it will work.  Now I want to test that by sticking with it and finding out at the end if I am right or not.  I don’t expect to be 100% right particularly as I have bent a few rules but I am looking forward to finding the space that works for me.

I have to say that the hour or so that it took me to choose these fabrics was the most exciting I have spent in a shop for a while (not counting being with my boy, which is always exciting).  It might have been that I haven’t been able to shop without the boy in a while (with the husband patient still not able to baby sit on his own).  It might have been that I didn’t have any other time pressures and I had set myself a budget that I could easily achieve.  It was just so much fun pulling the fabrics down and working out which could go with which.  I had a ball and can’t wait to do it again with some of the other feature fabrics that are on my way for the block swap party and the fabrics that I have chosen that want to make other projects out of.  But first things first – plenty to get on with.

 

One Response to “I just can’t help myself”

  1. chaletgirl Says:

    I’m very excited that you are doing this too! I think all of Oh Fransson’s instructions are absolutely perfect for a beginner. I know this would have been so helpful for me when I started – oh, the mistakes I have made over the years!


Leave a Reply

