Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

Reflections on Christmas December 24, 2008

Filed under: bits of life,Gryff,sewing — yarnplanner @ 9:35 pm

Well it didn’t all turn out as I had hoped but there have been a few milestones.  I have broken my own record for making a felted bag (28 hours beginning to end) but I’m not sure I want to see another felted bag for a bit.  Having said that, I have promised myself that I will make Gryff a little one for when he goes to Day care next year.  Making one so quickly has reminded me how much I enjoy the process over the outcome because although I think the bag I made was cute and the colours are great, I’m not sure that I really enjoyed making it.  Still…  I think I will enjoy giving it and that is all that matters.

I have enjoyed my sewing projects and particularly the little grab bags that the creative controller sent me a pattern for.  I had started to make the bag off the one that she had given me but realised half way through that I was in way over my head so the pattern (or at least the instructions) really came in handy.  I don’t think I would ever have got the turning inside out thing without help. Still, I have just made my third and they are all very sweet.  I think there are a few more to come before I move on to more sewing projects.  I don’t really want the sewing to slow down my yarn projects but it is so much faster and the fabrics give such a new dimension that I can see internal conflict and turmoil as I try to resist the machine.

I have also enjoyed making more presents than I have in the past and particularly mixing a hand made present with something that I know someone really wants.  My family are not in tune with my crafting enough to ‘ask’ me to make something for them so they just accept what comes their way.  I will try to change this I think.

I have just finished another row of the Eva… just so that I can say that I rolled into Christmas doing one of my own projects.  Still a salad to make in the morning though.

It has been a great year, and I am really looking forward to seeing my little boy and his reaction to all his presents in the morning.

 

One Response to “Reflections on Christmas”

  1. donna Says:

    It is a great pattern. I still find turning the handles a little tricky sometimes. I am trying to find a better way. Just not sure how yet.


Leave a Reply

