Yarnplanner's Blog

Blogging to control yarn and fabric urges

End of Week challenge round up August 27, 2012

Filed under: finished objects,Uncategorized,Year Long Challenge (YLC) — yarnplanner @ 9:52 pm

I’m still in ‘excited’ challenge mode and am really enjoying ‘shopping in my own store’ and using up fabrics that I own and getting rid of some that I don’t love anymore.

It was a busy week ‘in real life’ with the ‘Book Character Parade’ costume taking most of my sewing time but the result was good as my little Pinocchio was a hit! Pity I didn’t get a really great photo but just for the record:

If you’re wondering that is a leaf at the end of his long nose – it doesn’t work very well front on!

Onto the YLC (Year Long Challenge)

This past week the lovely Donna and I destashed a big pile of fabric (and me a little yarn) at the fabulous Fabric-a-brac.   It was a great afternoon.  Not only did I get rid of a heap (either by selling, donating or sending off to the op shop) of dreary, never to be used fabric, I didn’t leave with anything but 4 patterns. I have to admit that I nearly ‘caved’ but in the end, found the enjoyment of walking away better than the thrill of buying new fabric.   Donna did very well with just one canny purchase of fabric to match a pattern she had also just bought and she is following a very sensible  ‘buy to make’ rule because her stash is no where near as monstrous as mine.

I have also made FOUR skirts this weekend.  Two from the fabulous Nikki M’s A-Line Skirt pattern (I know, I know, I am so late to the party on that one) which is the best pattern EVAR!  I cut the full pattern out of a vintage sheet with the intention of making a proper muslin but it has worked out so well, I’m starting to rehearse fabrics to make a top to match.  It was late on Saturday night but I still had enough in me to cut the skirt part from again and throw a yoga style fold-over stretch band where the yoke should be.  It worked a treat and I actually wore the skirt to work today and was super comfy all day.

This is the muslin

The other two skirts were both the Fay skirt pattern from StyleArc.  This is the funkiest pattern I have ever seen! My first skirt was in a heavy weight two way stretch ‘something’ and it worked like a dream so just for fun I pulled out a one way stretch poplin and it is just as good.  These skirts are to die for, each taking less than an hour from beginning to end so I’m now stash diving to find a fabric for my third.

This is the stretch poplin which I cannot seem to photograph at any flattering angle. but trust me – it’s great!

So for the record I am now at day 42 of my challenge.  I’m loving it.

 

Leave a comment